Haiku Me

To write a painting,

explanations of vision,

that is a haiku

I don’t think I’ve tried writing poetry since I was a teenager, and even in English class I didn’t have a clue how poetry actually worked. But today something got me thinking about it (distraction and escapism – work had wrung me out and I needed a bit of beauty). Anyway, I looked up what makes a haiku, and found it wasn’t just five-seven-five. The purpose of a haiku is to create an image in the reader’s head. Sounds nice and peaceful after a long Friday’s done.

Now I shall follow

towards the breaking sunrise

and be filled with warmth

 Or better yet…

I shall search for tags

related to some haikus

and find a new blog

Hit me with your haikus.

MdD

Leave a Reply

