Ekka Show Day!

Cheese now comes on a stick, people!

IMAG0130

I had to crop this photo because I had inadvertently taken a picture of easily identifiable people. I have no idea who they are, but I’m sure they wouldn’t want their images published without their permission.

 

 

 

 

Cheese on a Stick

There it is! Cheese on a stick! Is this a new thing?

So last Saturday just gone I was at the Ekka. For those of you who don’t know, in Australia most country towns have show days (I guess they’re like county fairs in America?) and Brisbane, being the state capital (and basically a big sprawling country town that happens to have some skyscrapers), is host to the biggest show for all of Queensland. I have no idea how we got the word ‘Ekka’ as short-hand for ‘exhibition’. I’d expect it would have something to do with our historical boganism.

While the Ekka Show lasts for over a week, the show day is the day everyone has off. But seeing as the show day lands on Wednesday, the day I’m always at work and travelling (on my current roster), I couldn’t go today. Not that I usually would, it’s ridiculously expensive and somehow really cheap at the same time and… anyway. I went on Saturday.

IMAG0131

It was a horribly cloudy day and almost raining most of the time, but that’s also a good thing because the crowds would’ve been really hot if it were sunny.

Mum decided to volunteer at the strawberry stall so I decided to join her. It was good fun, and for five hours work (mostly chopping strawberries) we got free entry to the Ekka and got to reap a strawberry sundae out of it. The profits go to the Prince Charles Hospital, and they use it towards research into developing an artificial heart for transplants, finding a cure for osteoarthritis, treatments of cystic fibrosis and asthma, and lots of other things.

IMAG0109

How we made the Strawberry Sundae, and how every little bit was produced in Queensland. Except the cone. Goodness knows where that comes from.

After the shift from 7am to 12pm, we wandered about and saw the animals, ate some food (I actually didn’t get a cheese on a stick, since I wouldn’t have been able to eat it), and balked at the rides (I’m afraid of heights).

IMAG0118

Lambs!

IMAG0115

Llamas!

I bought a bubble gun for my little sister’s upcoming second birthday (she’s my Dad’s kid from his second marriage). All in all, it was a good, exhausting day. And it was nice to donate my time to something. I’m ashamed to say I haven’t done it before, and I do need to do it more. I’d like to help out at an animal shelter or something. I know the one my Auntie works at is looking for dog walkers, but it’s a forty minute drive away. I know it’s stupid to worry about something like petrol costs when I’m meant to be helping, but it’s still there. I’m going to start looking for animal shelters closer to home.

Have you done any volunteer work? Did you enjoy it? What did you do, or what do you want to do? Is anyone else looking forward to a local show/fair/fete/festival?

 

4 thoughts on “Ekka Show Day!

  1. I taught a young girl with some disabilities here in Korea. At first I was hesitant, but it turned out to be an amazing experience.
    Those sundaes look really good. I haven’t been to a fair in a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The sundaes were yummy 🙂 I’m glad you had a good experience with teaching that girl. You have a lovely manner so I’m sure that makes you very approachable to people 🙂 thanks for sharing your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a fun day of volunteering! That is lovely. Regarding the petrol cost: that is not stupid to worry about, it is practical. You can help much more often if it is close to home. Good luck finding some volunteer activities close to home. Love how you cropped the pictures too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for telling me its practical! I feel okay now 🙂 It doesn’t seem like there’s any animal shelters near my home, which was what I was interested in, but there’s always ways to help people. Thank you for your encouragement 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

