Do you want to talk? Or maybe you’d prefer to sing?

With the passing of the wonderful Robin Williams, I’ve decided upon something. I’m a big believer in communication helping people. But for some it is very difficult to talk about the things they worry over to people they know, or even to a stranger face-to-face. 

So I wanted to propose something. I have a gmail email that I don’t really use for anything (save for requiring it to buy google play apps), so I wanted to use it for this: talk to me.

You might not think this is a good idea, but I honestly don’t care if this email account just gets spammed. I’d expect there would be other services like this on the internet, but I just wanted everyone to know that I’m willing to listen – to anything. I’m not a psychologist, psychiatrist, or a therapist, but I promise to be non-judgmental and understanding. I also promise to never disclose anything you tell me. And I will respond. I will do my very best to help you. If I can’t, maybe I can help give you the confidence to find the help you need. Hopefully none of you need this, but I’m here if you need me.

You can reach me at nogaku89@gmail.com

Aaaand on that note, I’d like to suggest something that always helps me when I’m feeling anxious (which had been quite a lot when I was going through university).

There’s a great story about how the Welsh men became good singers. After working in the coal mines all day, the men would come up at the end of shift to view the last ray of sunshine before the day finally ended. They would all stand outside the entrance to the underground, and they would bellow out a ballad together. They believed that the actions of loud, powerful singing would clear their lungs of all that horrible black dust.

I believe that the power of singing can expel more than coal dust – I have sung out lingering anger, oppressive sadness and coiling fear. To be clear, I am a really, really bad singer. But when I’m alone in a room at the end of the day, I let it rip. I sing out my heart and my head (because it’s my head that gives me most of the trouble). I don’t just sing, I belt it – the aim for me is to push and shove that awful feeling inside me out.

I sing the classic Mien Herr from Cabaret (you’ll never turn the vinegar to jam, Mien Heeeerrrrrrr)

I sing the earthy beats of Lorde’s Glory and Gore (you can try and take us, OH!, but we’re the gladiators)

I sing old school Green Day (I am one of those melodramatic fools, neurotic to the bone no doubt about it!)

I sing Lily Allen (don’t try and test me ’cause you’ll get a reaction)

And lots of other good purging songs.

But hey, enough about me. Everyone has their go-to song, right? You might like singing Bruce Springsteen (You end up like a dog that’s been beat too much) or, for the Aussie purists, The Angels’ Am I Ever Gonna See Your Face Again (I am not going to quote those lyrics because I try to avoid swearing in my posts, but it really is the best song I could sing to let the anger out).

Maybe you prefer softer songs. Maybe you like church choir (which were probably started to help people express their emotions along with their faith). Or maybe you like singing songs from a hundred years ago (pack up your troubles in your old kit bag and smile, smile, smile)? Actually I really like songs from the twenties too (most folks they keep complainin’ whether it’s shine or rainin’, never satisfied ’cause they never tried to be glad that they are livin’). Actually I don’t like the message in that last song. It’s got a good beat, but it encourages people to smile when they feel lonely. Don’t put on a fake face. It takes too much energy and it doesn’t ever reward anyone, especially you. But I digress…

Sometimes you need an anthem to empower you. Sometimes you just need it to get through the day. I find singing really therapeutic. Maybe because it’s the closet thing I can get to screaming without the neighbours calling the police on me.

So please – if you can’t talk, then sing. Even if there is no one to hear you, it helps. I promise ❤

Good luck everyone!

MdD

Leave a Reply

