Reading & Writing Plans

This blog and everything that’s resulted from it (mostly, meeting all of you) has really motivated me to try new things. Before I was just reading whatever I found at the library and writing stories for my own enjoyment (and with the hope of getting published ‘one day’). But now, with all the encouragement (and examples set) from motivated bloggers, I have seen there’s another way to go about it all.

So here’s how my reading and writing plans have changed for the rest of the year.

Start Reading Indie Books

I had tried ebooks before, but never really got into them. I have to admit I am one of those people who love to hold a physical book in their hands – to flick through the pages and smell a new book, to feel the texture of the paper under my thumb, these are the small pleasures in life. I am very particular about font, the size of the text and the contrast between the black ink and the colour of paper used (white paper is too bright, and a book automatically gives off a sense of intrigue if its pages are browned, like it has its own history attached to it). There will always be the romanticism attached to borrowing a book from the library (who else has laughed and cried while holding this very book?), but of course my local library will never have the sheer variety that exists on the internet.

And the world of blogging has plenty to recommend! At the moment I’ve just started to read:

Arafura by Susan Lattwein (I’ve never read a book set in Darwin before, and Susan does a great job at illustrating the top end – the crazy hot and humid coast is making a wonderful respite from the cold, dry-as-a-bone days I’ve been experiencing at work lately)

Dirty Blood by Heather Hildebrand, which Leiah reviewed recently on So, I read this book today and it seemed to be right up my alley.

Six Hours to Sunrise by Melissa R Smith, who actually got me onto Smashwords when I read her (awesomely named) blog That’s great Mom… but I have pie

Next up I’ve got my eye on the Maggie Newberry Mysteries by Susan Kiernan-Lewis, because I love cozy mystery and France (and wine and vineyards and… yep, definitely going to try this series next).

And I’ll be reading Stephanie Hurt‘s next book. Because pirates.

Okay, I’m a little bit overwhelmed now by the fact that I’ve only just scratched the surface of the independent author-world. But I’m still up for recommendations! Plus I’ll keep casing through the blogs I follow for more possible reads.

7 thoughts on “Reading & Writing Plans

  1. This post made me so happy. I am thrilled for you. Regarding the books: I agree that nothing beats holding the real book in hand! though…the vastness of the internet is certainly appealing.
    A haiku accompanied by a photo sounds lovely. I am eager for next week’s post already. Yay for responsibility haha!
    Regarding publishing: good for you! I am working on a fantasy novel myself right now! I am terrified about the whole publishing process. And the part where it sucks the fun out. I will definitely be referencing your blog to see if your method is something possible for me. I hope to have it finished by May of 2015!

    Like

    • Wow that’s great! Writing fantasy is hard because you don’t just create the story but you create the lore too. I found I had to keep a separate word doc that had the place names, hierarchy trees and other details that I just couldn’t keep track in my head. Like a reference book, I guess. Good on you for setting a date! Yeah the publishing process is scary either way, but lots of people seem to have some success with self publishing, which is better than constant rejection 😦 but I would recommend trying traditional publishing first. You never know – you might just encounter the right person who believes in your book and can take it all to the next level 🙂 good luck writing and I look forward to reading it!

      Like

      • That is a brilliant idea to keep a reference list of your created world at hand. I love that aspect of fantasy; that is why I went that route, but in order to remain consistent I am going to try that details trick. The lore is so much fun! 😀 Thank you so much for the motivation and encouragement! I will definitely send it to some traditional houses first, and pray fervently that someone likes it! Good luck with your writing; I am eager to read yours as well!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

