I like stats

Because I’m pedantic, and perhaps a bit vain too (but I’m not too proud to admit it). One of my favourite things about word press is it’s statistics function. For about a week now I’ve been compulsively, indulgently and guiltily checking it every hour or so. I know, I know, a watched pot never boils, but I find it fun in a strange way (I wouldn’t be surprised if my ancestors were bean counters).

But yesterday something really annoying happened. I posted, and you kind people liked, but my hits didn’t go up. I had never noticed this happening before. I worried there was a glitch in this glorious statistics page, but no. When I searched for the problem, I found that posts read in wordpress’ reader don’t count as hits!

Untitled

Well, doesn’t that just make the whole compilation of data completely inaccurate! And there is no offense greater to scientist than inaccurate data!

Okay, I’m exaggerating. I was a bit miffed is all. And if you’ve gotten to this stage in the post, then you would know what I’ve done to rectify the situation.

I noticed some people had this setup where you had to navigate to their blog to read the whole post. So that was how you do it! By going through the forums I found how to emulate this wonderful function:

Go to dashboard. Click settings, then reading, and then where it saysΒ For each article in a feed, showΒ select summary. Easy!

Well, actually I had trouble finding the dashboard, so I just copied and pasted this helpful directory:

whateveryourblogiscalled.wordpress.com/wp-admin/options-reading.php

That was easier.

Β 

I would like some feedback though. Do you find it annoying to have to click to my blog to read the whole post? I hope it isn’t inconvenient, but if you find it is, please tell me! But then, if you’ve gotten through this rant about statistics and you’re still here I’d expect I haven’t annoyed you too much πŸ˜‰

Pages

I figured I’d stick this at the end here. I’ve got two new pages on my blog! If you hover over my About page you’ll find one labelled “Who I really am”. The other one is just a Contact Me page with the email I gave out a couple of days ago. I also wrote a sappy poem on the page. Because when I get tired I trip out on emotions.

I’m very tired now…

Good night everyone!

MdD

18 thoughts on “I like stats

  1. Yes, I knew this about the reader not counting as a hit and I’ve just never bothered changing the setting. Sometimes it’s a pain to do that extra click, but if the post is worth reading then people don’t mind going to your site because it’s nicer to look at the post on a proper site I think. I love being able to look at the stats too. It’s so fun seeing where the viewers come from. Anyway, I think the problem would be fixed if you simply directed people to your blog. If I’m going to read an article I prefer to see it on the actual page. Well, that’s my opinion. Have a good night:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just read this entire blog post in Reader. I didn’t click through to your blog.

    I read everything in reader. I do sometimes find that when I click through to a site they aren’t always formatted properly, the screen isn’t wide enough and I just can’t be bothered dealing with it so I don’t read it at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha, I adore the way you word things: “ancestors were bean counters”).
    If I like a blog (like I do yours) I am happy to click to continue reading. I had no idea about that feature. I might switch mine too, just to get a more realistic figure. Like you though, I don’t want to be annoying. Hmm…tough choice. But I want WordPress readers to count!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is fascinating info, Marigold, because when I’ve been scrolling through Reader and pressing ‘like’ I wondered if it was as good as opening the whole post, then ‘liking’ it. My hunch was correct! I tend to like photos without reading the whole thing but with the longer texts, if I’m interested – I open them…

    I’ll now explore your handy tip! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Liza Barrett says:

    I’m getting a masters degree in stats, so the lack of accurate data has been driving me nuts—how is anyone supposed to do any kind of realistic time series analysis on hits by new post type/frequency if they can’t trust their data? I’ve just changed my setting as well — we’ll see how it goes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hope you notice a difference like I have πŸ™‚ But it must be doubly annoying if you’re getting a masters degree in stats! I just took stats 101 at uni and I’m irritated! And there’s still loopholes – my wordpress app’s reader still shows the whole thing! They need to fix that…
      Your time series analysis comment made me laugh πŸ˜€ so awesome that you got where I was coming from and then took it to a whole new level πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Liza Barrett says:

        Minimal difference so far, though I haven’t really posted anything since. This week (if I manage to have a life after work) should be a better indication.
        I tend to look for every excuse to do trend analysis. Call me geeky, but I find it terribly fun, and I always learn something new or find some new quirk every time I play with a different set of data. And I REALLY want to get a better idea of what tags work well, what types of posts bring in the most readers, etc. I can experiment and get a decent idea, but it’s hard to de-bias my head to account for things like day of the week, time of the year, etc., which a good stats program would be able to do.
        (Yep, definitely geeky)

        Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s funny, I’ve posted over 650 posts on one blog, and 250+ on another. Of course I love it when people visit and like what I’ve written, but I don’t pay too much attention to stats…I do check out where the readers are from, and of course I would like to be touching thousands of lives (in a good way) -like some blogs do – but I am not very good at “advertising” and really, if I touch a life or two – I am happy! Have made some great friends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

