Random Flash Fiction

Hiya. This is a flash fiction I wrote today, inspired from my flu and how I can’t stop describing its disgusting workings to people. But not you though. I would never do that to you 😉

 

I gingerly walked through the school to get to my home room. Still feeling out of it, I almost didn’t see Jake.

He smiled at me and kindly asked, “Hey, you’re feeling better then?”

I tried smiling back but it ended in a grimace. “A little. I think I swallowed too much mucus so I’m all queasy now.”

Jake’s smile froze into insincerity. “Okay…” He walked away.

Idiot.

Idiot!

The shout from behind almost threw my heart out of my chest. Reeling, I clutched my collar and turned around to meet Lana.

“What was that for?”

“I could ask you the same thing!”

“Lana-”

“What person in their right mind talks about mucus to someone they like?”

Keep your voice down.

“Seriously! What were you thinking?”

“I wasn’t. Okay?”

“Well, maybe you should start.” Lana approached me, but kept at least a meter’s distance for fear of germs. “How do you expect to ever get a date?”

“I dunno. Maybe I have a subconscious fear of commitment-”

“I think you gotta have some sort of relationship first. You enjoy sabotaging any chance of that.”

I just shrugged, already too exhausted to argue.

“C’mon. We better get moving.”

I follow her down the path.

“Hey,” Lana spoke up after about a minute. “I’m glad you’re back.”

I sneezed and rummaged my pockets for a tissue.

She burst out laughing.

I was glad to be back.

6 thoughts on “Random Flash Fiction

  1. Haha I like this because it is quirky, funny, cute, and very realistic. It is not cheesy at all because that is something that is so easy to relate to. Especially the smile falling off of Jake’s face, and the friend being horrified. I love it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gah! That’s what I get for posting without reading it through properly first :p looking back, I dropped the past tense for a moment there too (follow, not followed). Oh well. Thank you for liking it despite it’s flaws 🙂 and thanks for the encouragement too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You capture the adolescent tendency to say the wrong thing, especially when it’s important, perfectly!
    “Jake’s smile froze into insincerity” – an excellent image – I can just see Jake’s smile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

