Bookshelf Tag!

Oooh this is new for me! The lovely Leiah, editor and reader extraordinaire, from http://soireadthisbooktoday.com/ has tagged me to participate in this Bookshelf Tag. This should be fun. Let’s find out!

book kitty

Let us begin.

Bookshelf Tag:

“Answer the following questions about books on your bookshelf and then tag five other bloggers. You can answer the questions any way you want, whether it’s on your blog, in a video, or a combination of the two. Then remember to let whoever tagged you know when your post is up so they can read it.”

1. Is there a book that you really want to read but haven’t because you know that it’ll make you cry?

I can’t stand soppy books, or even movies. I don’t like crying, even though I cry really easily because my hormones are all out of whack. I remember getting to the end of one movie called This Is England and I just sat there for a solid fifteen minutes bawling my eyes out. If I see a book described as a tear-jerker (and you can usually tell which ones they are), I avoid it like the plague. So to be honest, I don’t think I’ve ever read a book that’s made me cry and I never will.

Tears of laughter? That’s entirely another set of stories. Bring ’em on.

2. Pick one book that helped introduce you to a new genre.

Since I’ve reached adulthood (I think) I’ve surprised myself by actually liking the occasional romance. And the book that started this was (draws in sharp breath) none other than Twilight. What? I was curious. And I ‘got’ it. Not enough to read the rest in the series but I got through the whole book and I was like… I get it. Since then I’ve read mostly chick-lit type romances (I always love a self-discovery story) but I did give historical romance a go with Lynsay Sands’ Lady Pirate. Which, again, I was surprised that I enjoyed. I think that was because the book didn’t take itself too seriously. So I like romances with a tongue-in-cheek style.

Wait, I was meant to pick one book? Oh, nevermind.

3. Name a book that you want to reread.

I don’t really reread books (there’s too many new ones to get through!) but I would like to get through the Secret Seven and the Famous Five again. I bought these nice boxsets of the first ten in each series a few years ago at a Christmas sale and started on the Secret Seven (they’re still good ^-^) but I should get through the rest of them when I’m feeling nostalgic and need to reassure myself that I had seriously excellent taste when I was nine years old.

4. Is there a book series you’ve read but wish that you hadn’t?

I have absolutely no qualms about dropping a book that doesn’t interest me. If I’ve read it to the end, then I enjoyed something about it. This ruthless habit started when I was thirteen and read the least entertaining, most gratuitous vampire novel ever (honestly, the librarians at my school clearly didn’t have a clue what was on their shelves). That was back when I was young and naive and decided that I would finish every novel I started. When I finally got to the end (I’m not going to name it because I don’t like to gossip) I realised just how much time had been sucked out of my life. That was time I would never get back.

Once bitten, twice shy, as they say.

5. If your house was burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save?

My Agatha Christie Collection. And my Enid Blyton collection. And my Darren Shan books. And the Lord of the Rings bookmarks that support them. And the Kiki’s delivery service statuette I bought in Japan. 

Oh who am I kidding? I’m going to die in that fire.

6. Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories?

The Last Man by Mary Shelley. I found it in the big second hand bookstore up at Eumundi. I’m still only halfway through the second volume and I’m probably never going to finish the damn thing, but I was just so stoked to have found it and discovered that not only has Mary Shelley written the first BIG horror novel but probably the first post-apocalyptic novel too. It’s a shame it wasn’t any good.

7. Find a book that has inspired you the most.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. What other book could it be? I read that when I was twelve and it turned me into a sponge for creativity. I had always been a dreamer, but I remember after reading that book I had to write a short story for school and I adopted J K Rowling’s third person past tense style, which I had never done before. I got a truly excellent grade for that short story and I was so chuffed I had managed to create something that looked so neat and sensible.

Funny how I’ve worked my way back to first person since.

8. Do you have any autographed books?

Nope. Though I got an autographed CD from Pink. Does that count?

9. Find the book that you have owned the longest.

I’ve just looked at my bookshelf and found my copy of The Naughtiest Girl Again is gone! I’m sure I got that for Christmas when I was eight or nine. It must be in a box somewhere. Well, the oldest book on my shelf is actually one the old Choose Your Own Adventure stories. This one is called Treasure Diver, and I’m pretty sure I spent my pocket money at a library clearance for it. I would’ve been at least ten years old, but it looks the most battered of them all, so I’ll go with that one.

10. Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy?

Well, I already mentioned romance stuff. But I should mention a series that I really enjoy but probably shouldn’t – Rogue Angel by Alex Archer. I love these books. Alex Archer isn’t even a real person – it’s a collection of authors that take turns writing the books, which I really should approve of but IT’S LARA CROFT WITH A SWORD! How could I not love that? The books were practically written for me.

Now for my five victims bloggers to tag:

  • Shelby at http://www.naturepreserve.me/ Exerciser, reader, writer, horse rider, student, relentless energy person and notoriously good-natured. Can a person be notoriously good natured? If it’s possible, Shelby is.
  • Nicholas at http://nicholasrossis.me/ ANCIENT GREEK HISTORY AND MYTHOLOGY! What’s not to love?
  • Eliza at http://elizaworner.com/ Entertaining tips and thoughts on the writing process and struggles therein. So many of Eliza’s posts just hit the nail on the head. SO much empathy.
  • Lola at http://hitormissbooks.wordpress.com/ Lots of awesome reviews. Lola’s opinions are uncannily like my own, she’s one of my main references.
  • Vonzex/James at http://storymedic.com/ Has been ghost writing for ages (actually has industry experiences! latches on) and is trying his hand at writing his own book. Also, he lives in Tasmania, which is awesome.

I hope you’ll all check these bloggers out, and I’m keen to see what their responses are 🙂

Why is it midnight now? I’m going to bed. Good night.

3 thoughts on “Bookshelf Tag!

  1. Thank you so much for including me here! I loved your post, but find it a shame that you have no autographed books. Just contact me with your address and I’ll send you an autographed copy of Po6, as a small ‘thank-you’ for the kind mention! 🙂

    Oh, and you do realise you just made a great point in favour of ebooks vs print, right? With a Kindle in hand, you’d survive the fire… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for the sweetest blurb about me ever. I just appreciate it so much!
    1. I need to be better about adopting your style regarding books I do not enjoy. I need to just let them go. “Let them go…can’t read them any mooree…let them go, turn away and slam that cover!”
    2. Dying in the fire, hahah, please don’t!
    3. Inspirational book: I could not agree more. Especially about the tense and how I too mimicked it. I then reverted back to my first person ways. I am going to have to try her style again. Thanks for reminding me of that. Inadvertently. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

