Book Review: Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

17562900

Review:

Mid-west Book Review called Patricia Briggs a natural-born storyteller, and I couldn’t agree more. This is especially true in this book – I didn’t care for the vast majority of the story. I didn’t care about the issues with Christy (whose obvious manipulation seemed cheap and, for me, not believable), which takes up too much of the book. But I still loved reading it. Patricia Briggs has a special way of spinning a tale. She’s one of the few authors who makes me forget my surroundings completely. Usually when I’m reading, I have one ear to the ground (so to speak). I think that’s a survival instinct I developed from missing too many train stops when I was younger. But these books still manage to override that, and that’s pretty cool.

So even though I only really liked the bits with Coyote, some of the Guayota and the minor plot with the fae (I’ll always love fae), I still enjoyed this book while I was reading it. Thumbs up.

Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

Mercy Thompson #8

Book Length: 341 pages

Time to Read: About a week at half an hour to an hour a day.

Paranormal Drama/Action/Adventure.

Adult Fiction.

According to the Blurb on the Back:

Mercy Thompson’s life is never simple.

Her mate Adam’s ex-wife is in trouble, on the run from her new boyfriend. Adam won’t turn Christy away when she’s in need, but Mercy can’t shake the feeling that something isn’t right.

Soon, Mercy learns that Christy has the furthest thing from good intentions. She wants Adam back and will do anything to get him, including turning Adam’s pack against Mercy.

Meanwhile, there’s an even more dangerous threat circling. Christy’s ex is more than a bad man – in fact, he may not be human at all. As the bodies pile up, Mercy finds herself facing a creature with the power to tear her world apart.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

  1. I had a real problem with this one. I always hate it when authors seem to lose their stride, and plug in something trite in order to fill pages (and meet publication requirements). I really felt that this book fell into that gutter, and it ticked me off. She is such a good writer, and the world is so well developed, that I was extremely disappointed with the whole book…. I sure hope things get better and she hasn’t jumped the proverbial shark!

    Like

    • Now that I think about it, that could be exactly what happened. The real story was Guayota, and Christie was just superfluous but so much more time was spent with her. I still enjoyed reading the book simply because of the way Briggs writes, but the story was largely uninteresting and not memorable. To be honest, I kind of have trouble remembering what happened in all of the Mercy Thompson books 😛 but I remember the higher fantasy stuff with more clarity (Hurog, the detective sorceress and the slave spy… Okay, I can’t remember the titles but I know what they were about). I hope she hasn’t jumped the shark too, though I think her Alpha and Omega series is better, so I wouldn’t mind if she drops Mercy altogether and focuses on that series or goes back to a medieval fantasy setting. Maybe I’m just being harsh.

      Liked by 1 person

      • No, I don’t think you are being harsh. I think they just lose interest at times, mores the pity. As for myself, I wasn’t fond of Alpha and Omega, I am more of an Urban Fantasy buff (as you know, *smile*) I just hate losing another wonderful UF author. I used to read med fantasy, but moved away from it several years ago and just never went back to it.

        At least I am finding some new indie authors that I am enjoying, so that helps. 😉

        Like

      • Funny how the times move on. Urban Fantasy is so huge now and yet wasn’t it med fantasy dominating the fantasy market not too long ago? I wonder what’s next for fantasy. I haven’t read much of steampunk or cyberpunk, though both genres intrigue me. I don’t see dystopian lasting much longer, personally. I’m not sure why, it’s just a feeling I have.
        And yes, I’m really excited to read more from indie authors, esp a few you’ve recommended!

        Like

Leave a Reply

