100 Followers + First Day in Spain!

This was just going to be a holiday post but BOOM! Just hit the 100 mark! Woohoo! Thanks be to you all who have been kind enough to follow, like, comment and be generally excellent individuals. Thank you ❤ And today is actually my second day in Spain, but it is the first day I actually began to experience Spain. Yesterday me and Mum just checked in, had an afternoon sleep, then woke bleary eyed and zombie-like at 7pm to wander the streets looking for brains. I mean, burgers. I know that isn’t the thing to do when you’re in a foreign country but that’s what I felt like after 24 hours in transit. Today we went to the royal palace, walked along Mayor St (or Calle de Mayor) and saw some awesome buildings.

Museo Palacio Real

Museo Palacio Real

The royal palace was pretty cool, but the armoury was fantastic. I had never seen an armoury that had so much horses’ armour, and it included a lot of the royals’ armour too. There were a lot of pieces that we designed for princes while they were still young boys (for ceremony, I hope). So there were all these decked out horse mannequins and little mini suits of armour. Queen Isabella even had several suits of armour, all on display, which I really liked. I knew the famous image of Queen Elizabeth of England doing the whole ‘I may have the feeble body of a woman but I have the heart and stomach of a king!’ In her ceremonial suit of armour, but it’s nice to know she wasn’t the only Queen rockin’ the warrior-woman look at the time.

Fresco inside the palace

Fresco inside the palace

The entranceway was the only place inside the palace we could take photos. Mum suspects that they enforce the ‘do not take photos’ rule just so they could sell us coffee table books at the souvenir shop. Sure, the flash might damage the colours of the tapestries and paintings, but why are we still not allowed to take photos if we just don’t use the flash? It does sound like a bit of a con. We already pay to get in, after all. You go to one post-renaissance palace in Europe, and you’ve kinda gone to them all. I haven’t been to Versailles, but it does seem to be the standard they’re all modelled off (though I’ve only been in the Schonbrunn in Vienna and the Dolmabache Palace in Istanbul to compare).

Palacio de Linares

Palacio de Linares

There are plenty of beautiful buildings in Madrid that we walked past, but didn’t have time to go inside/ weren’t allowed. I think the Linares used to be a ‘communications centre’, or post office. Best looking post office I’ve ever seen.

A walk in the park

A walk in the park

The parks are nice, frequent and full of shady trees, but there is a weird standard where the paths through them and large sections of the parks are just sandy barren areas. The parks were all busy today with families playing soccer and stuff, so maybe the sandy sections are for sports? I’m not sure.

Tapas and Sangria

Tapas and Sangria

And we had tapas for lunch! Then we had our meet and greet dinner for the tour group and ended up having tapas for dinner too! Am very full now. Lots of croquettes, omelettes and gazpacho. We ordered Tinto de Verano to drink but got given Sangria instead, which was twice the price. We couldn’t tell the difference since we’ve never had either (I don’t count sangria slushies from the taco restaurants back home) so we didn’t find out until the bill came that sangrias were twice the price of Tinto de Verano. Anyway… So that’s day one! Typing on the ipad is ticking me off more than I thought it would, so though I’ll try to post regularly, it might not be that often. Thanks doe reading! MdD

12 thoughts on “100 Followers + First Day in Spain!

    • I’ve been window shopping more than actual shopping so far, but my eyes are peeled for bargains! I love hearing from fellow travellers (that’s two things we have in common!) and I love those sorts of souvenirs that are useful so whenever you use it you can be like ‘I got these slippers in Spain, I’m so wordly!’ Something similar happened today when someone commented on my skirt and I was able to say,’I got this in Tokyo!’ And in my head I thought ‘I’m so wordly!’ Just awesome 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Sounds lovely so far except for the Sangria prices. That’s their national drink, isn’t it? It should be cheap like the wine!! We loved being able to get full glasses of wine for a couple bucks and tapas were such fun too. Enjoy Madrid!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sangria is still technically cheap compared to Aussie prices – one glass was 3,5 euros and a jug to share was 9. So I guess I really shouldn’t complain but then again, I’m a tourist! Muahahaha! I’m amazed that both you and Carol have been to Spain before! Funny what we have in common 🙂 so pleased I’ve finally got a spare moment and decent wifi to reply to your comment too – hope things are well on your end!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post! So many exciting new things to take in. Also, coffee table books are unfortunately expensive. Geesh. But a lot of time goes into making them. They should let you take pictures. 😦 Have such a fun holiday! Sorry typing on the ipad stinks, but whenever you get around to posting from the trip, all 100 of us eager to read them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know where I’d be without you, Shelby! Your thoughtful words are what keeps me coming back and trying to learn to use this silly ipad thing. Honestly, I might only be twenty four but when it comes to new fangled and strange contraptions I can’t make hide nor hair of these things. Aren’t they meant to be intuitive? Oh well, 8’m learning 🙂

      Like

  3. You’d be in Spain without me…jerk. Hahahah, I crack myself up. 🙂 I am dreadfully technology-challenged. I do not have a smart phone or iPad and while is saves a bunch of money, I also just don’t trust myself not to break it. Funny you should mention being 24 and struggling with it though; I bet you are right, and that some 80 year old has it down already. Hahaha.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

