Messing Around with Covers for The Black Swan Inheritance

Well, I had thought I had done a pretty good job playing about with images for my cover of The Black Swan Inheritance. That was until I decided to take the result to my biggest critic – my mother. She didn’t like the beak.

Book1_1Book1_2

I liked it. I thought the cover looked pulpy and cool. But her comments were valid – I am not, after all, an artist. I don’t exactly have an artistic eye. And I can’t draw or paint or any of that. I do like to think I can write though, and I’m sticking to that idea no matter who tells me otherwise!

Anyway, to help my self-esteem and non-existent art talent, I tried again. This time, without so much beak:

Book1_3_without_beak2

And I really should stop there. I’m being helped by a friend who’s a bit more clued in than I am with the art thing so together hopefully we’ll be able to get something more professional-looking.

I had looked at lots of photos of black swans, but I do love this image (or you can see it below) which I originally found on rgbstock.com, but the photographer has asked me to reference and link back to the freestock.ca website. I think the picture is just perfect for my book. The black swan is just gorgeous and the blood-red beak and eye dominates the centre of the picture. I love the colours of black swans ^-^

So I’m kind of stuck on this image for now. Who knows, maybe I won’t even end up using it. Anything could happen.

Having said that, I have tentatively set myself a publish date of December 1st of this year. Just in time for Christmas! Maybe. Should be. We’ll see.

So, what do you all think? I know the font is rough, I just wanted to see what it looked like with all the bits attached. Anyone else hate the beak? Like the photo, don’t want to change it? Any other ideas? Let me know!

11 thoughts on “Messing Around with Covers for The Black Swan Inheritance

  1. I think the fonts look like someone who didn’t know what they were doing slapped them on there (I’m not trying to cause offense, but that’s what happened :p ) so I tried a different font http://i.imgur.com/3Mkr0t9.png and I realized that your picture might be what’s stopping your novel from being seen in the best light. If you don’t mind me toying around with it, is there anything besides a black swan that could go on a cover? Maybe something less literal?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do really like the picture so I’m hoping it will work, but otherwise I’m open to ideas. I always imagined there would be a black swan on the cover since they are so beautiful, but I guess I should look at other options to see what jumps out at me.
      Thanks for having a go with the cover 🙂 I think you did a good job with it, but the image does have a little too much beak still.There must be a way…
      Thanks for your comments!

      Like

  2. I would almost say make the letters to your font the color of the beak and just use the feathers on its wing for you cover. Then you won’t have to worry about the beak and you still have that reference to a swan. I pick up more books with just an interesting texture that fits the title than a cover that has an object or thing just sitting there. That’s just my two cents though. I think the swan is awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I apologize for lack of advice. I do not have a particularly gifted eye for such matters either. What I do know: A December release date is so exciting! I will ask it for a Christmas present from Cody! Awesome! Congrats on all of your hard work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thank you so much! Please do not feel obliged to read it if you don’t like the sound of it. I have a strange liking for characters that can be a little self-destructive… I just posted a new post with my blurbs and blurby descriptions if you wanted to work out whether it’s the sort of thing you’re into. Y’know, just figured I’d drop that in there ;P

      Like

Leave a Reply

