Last Weekend’s Redcliffe Trip

DSCN7408Last Saturday me and Mum drove up to Redcliffe for fish & chips. It was raining when we got up there, and the fish and chips were awful, but eventually the rain cleared up and we had a nice a wander along the coast.

DSCN7431

DSCN7412

It was nice to see so many families about having barbeques or going for swims in the beach or the man-made ‘lagoon’. Actually, the lagoon was packed – a true sign that school holidays are a long way from being over.

Got some cool pictures of the rocky beaches with all the seaweed washed up, and if you saw my post from yesterday you’ll know there was heaps of jellyfish washed up too.

DSCN7440

 

???????????????????????????????

Ibis picking through the seaweed for some goodies

 

I love red dirt. Red was my favourite colour as a kid (I don’t really have a favourite now) and seeing that lovely dark red always cheers me up.

DSCN7428

Red dirt! Love it!

Found some nice flowers growing about too…

DSCN7420

 

We finished our walk at the pier, and then worked our way back through the shops. Ate at Banjo’s cafe which I was surprised to find. It seemed to be everywhere in Hobart when I last visited, but this is the first time I’d seen one in Queensland. Or maybe I just hadn’t been looking.DSCN7451It was nice to play tourist in our own backyard. It’s easy to forget how a forty minute drive can be enough to get a change of scenery and inspire you to go exploring. We walked for about an hour and a half, and I was a bit shattered by the end (messed up low blood sugar and other rubbish. Should have had something healthier after the terrible fish and chips. I dunno…)

Do you ever play tourist? I feel sorry for all my American friends who are stuck inside for the foreseeable future, but never fear! The snow’s gotta stop at some point!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Last Weekend’s Redcliffe Trip

  1. I think it is wonderful to explore one’s home territory as a tourist. We often miss many things that tourists find fascinating! I find it to be so enjoyable to be surprised right where I live.

    Like

  2. I love playing tourist in my backyard. It’s even more fun with visitors who are experiencing your normal, because you get to see it through their eyes. Last summer (July and August here) I visited as many national monuments and parks in my state as I could. It was great fun and I don’t know why it took me so long to do!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a great idea. Although, monuments in Australia tend to be more like ‘the big banana’, ‘the big pineapple’ and ‘the big mango’. Actually, I remember the big mango got stolen last year. I wonder if they found it?
      I will definitely be checking out national parks though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

