Flash Fiction: Dinner Dialogue

“If I can make it, I’m not going to order it.”

“That’s ridiculous. Can’t you just enjoy eating out?”

“If I order Spaghetti Bolognese and I know I can do better, I can’t enjoy it.”

“We are in a five star restaurant! This is absolutely no judgement on your cooking but I think their spag bol will be better.”

“But what if it isn’t? Then it’s just overpriced disappointment.”

They’ve used five different mushrooms and it’s topped with shaved truffle!

“That won’t make it good though; just expensive.”

“Look, I understand where you are coming from, but the whole point of this menu is ‘gormet-izing’ regular food. Just order what you want.”

“Right, and I want the calamari.”

“You hate squid!”

“But if this is meant to be the best of the best, then the meal should make me like squid.”

“You’re setting yourself up for failure.”

“Excuse me mademoiselles, have you perused the menu?”

“Yes, I’ll have the calamari and chips.”

“And I’ve got to order the spag bol so my friend has something to eat.”

“…Excuse me?”

“Oh, the Spaghetti Bolognese.”

“You spent the past five minutes arguing against me when you’re just going to order for me anyway?!… oh, that was quick.”

“How’s the squid?”

“…Okay, I guess.”

“I knew it.”

“Hey! That’s my dinner!”

“No, the spaghetti is. You’re lucky I don’t like it.”

“…Thanks.”

“You’re bloody welcome.”

6 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: Dinner Dialogue

    • Thanks! Yeah, it’s roughly an internal dialogue of me, the first thought being my original mantra before I threw up my hands realising I didn’t like the food I was ordering! Silliness 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you! I’ve been struggling with my weekly short stories, always thinking ‘I’ve run out of ideas!’ But yesterday I remembered to just have fun, whatever, write something, anything! I’m glad it worked out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • KendiBanks says:

        Glad you had fun… It read that way! …. I feel like I’ve been in a slump as well…. Like writing was making me anxious so I took a break…. Now I’ve started back, and it feels really good..

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

