Indie Book Review: Driven by Becky Dufree

Driven cover

Review:

“Insisting on being happy isn’t being selfish. It’s necessary.”

  • Elanor Whitby (wickedly awesome character)

First off, this is currently a free book on amazon for Martin Luther King Day. GO AND GET IT!

It’s been a long time since I couldn’t put down a book, and longer still when I’ve read a book in a day. Even when I really like a book, I would pace it out over at least two or three days. Even when I couldn’t put a book down, I would because I had other things that had to be done. But the stars aligned and the more I read Driven, the more I was sucked in until I had to finish it.

Of course, it isn’t a bloody tome of a thing so that really helped. Short and to the point, every single moment in this book had a purpose.  No filler, no padding, no bullsh*t that has ticked me off many times before. And I loved every moment of it.

A paranormal mystery wrapped up in a tale of self-discovery where our protagonist realises that throughout her life, she’s just been ‘going through the motions’ and that she has to work out what she really wants to do. This book ticked all my boxes, as if it were written just for me. Crazy how someone on the other end of the world can write a tale that speaks to me like this.

The characters were brilliant, realistic, complicated and so very, very different from each other. I love how the book ended – it was so naturally done, nothing was forced, and everything was well reasoned. How often do you read a story where you think it’s going to go in an obvious direction, and then it surprises you by bringing a solid dose of reality that in the real world, things just don’t work that way? I cannot be more specific than that because I do not like to spoil things. If you read it, you’ll know what I’m talking about: the characters’ relationships are not forced, and they are not idealistic.

I was asked to review Driven by the author. Obviously my thoughts are my own and not everyone is going to love this book as much as I did, but I think if you have similar tastes in paranormal mysteries and journeys of self-realisation as me then you will love this book. I went and bought the sequel straight away, that’s how much I loved it.

Also, that moment when you recognise the cover picture in the story O.O awesome 🙂

Author Goodreads Page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7123147.Becky_Durfee

Author Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/JennyWatkinsMysteries

Amazon Buy Link: http://www.amazon.com/Driven-Jenny-Watkins-Mystery-Book-ebook/dp/B00CXX0LOC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1421712621&sr=8-1&keywords=driven+becky+durfee

Driven, by Becky Dufree

Jenny Watkins Mystery #1

Book Length: 197 pages

Paranormal Mystery (Adult Fiction)

According to the Blurb:

Jenny Watkins is an ordinary elementary school teacher who buys a ramshackle old house with her husband Greg, intending to renovate the structure back to its original grandeur. Shortly after moving in, Jenny begins to hear voices, prompting her to look into a long-forgotten sixty-year-old missing persons case. During her investigation she meets a spunky elderly woman who causes Jenny to re-examine the way she looks at life.

This inspiring story offers believable characters, an intriguing plot, and plenty of humor throughout. The first book in a promising new series, Driven is sure to leave readers looking for more.

3 thoughts on “Indie Book Review: Driven by Becky Dufree

Leave a Reply

