Indie Book Review: The Perfect Son by Kyion S Roebuck

24237940

Review:

I’ve always liked short psychological thriller/mysteries, and The Perfect Son provided exactly what I love about the genre. My mind was running with questions the whole time I was reading it. Has his mind split in two? Has he been experimented on? Is he a robot? Is he possessed? I love these stories that walk the boundary between science and the preternatural. The mystery was compelling, the ‘Perfect Son’ was both a sympathetic character and a really creepy kid. Then there was the mother. You can never tell with mothers in these sorts of stories. Are they as nice as they seem?

The pacing was well done, and after being absorbed in the mystery I felt I was well-rewarded with a satisfying ending. Not that everything is explained in nitty-gritty detail, but it mystery is resolved enough so that I felt content and could fill in some minor blanks with my own imagination. I found it a very appropriate ending for this sort of genre (the reason I say this was I saw a review that lamented the ending not being explained enough, and I thought it was it was unfair. The ending was right for the story).

An enthralling horror-esque read. Highly recommended for a dark and stormy night.

Like my review? Like it on Goodreads too!

The author requested me to read this book and I purchased it of my own accord. This is an honest review, and all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Currently on Amazon for US$0.99

Author Goodreads

The Perfect Son, by Kyion S. Roebuck

Book Length: 68 pages

Pyscho-Thriller (Novella)

According to the Blurb:

After barely surviving a near fatal accident, fifteen-year-old Cody Winters returns home changed in ways that defy science. He’s now more intelligent, polite, responsible and mature– practically every parent’s ideal son. Oddly, he can’t remember anything about his life prior to the injury, but nothing stays buried forever.

5 thoughts on “Indie Book Review: The Perfect Son by Kyion S Roebuck

    • It ticked all my boxes for me! Been a while since I read a novella and it was a nice change to experience such a compact story 🙂 thanks for commenting! PS I’m going to read Shallow Waters this month since it’s mystery/crime month at my bookclub. I honestly think it’s the sort of book my mum would love (she’s big into Val McDermit and the Scandanavian crime and stuff. She’s reading Lisa Gardner now) I just need to convince her on the ereader front 😉 so expect my review later in the month! (sorry it’s taken me so long – I did buy it when it came out!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

