Children’s Book Review: Runaway Smile by Nicholas C. Rossis

23802198

Review:

It’s a little different reading and reviewing a children’s book as an adult. I did go back and read some old Secret Seven books when I bought the hardcopies two years ago, and I guess Runaway Smile is roughly the same age-group(?) Although, kids all read at different levels, don’t they?

Runaway Smile was a fun blend of everyday life with regular doses of the fantastical. The illustrations were a real treat, really adding to the story without being imposing. The poem at the end was a nice touch, but I did I wish it would’ve rhymed more.

I know for a fact my nine-year-old self would detest (if she knew the word) the dog being referred to as ‘it’. That’s just a personal thing, since to me ‘it’ indicates an inanimate object without feelings, but then, some people prefer to use ‘it’ as it’s neither masculine nor feminine. I just know what the nine-year-old in me thinks, and she thinks it’s mean to call a dog ‘it’.

That’s such a minor gripe though, and the book is a fun, short magical read for bedtime. The ending was especially sweet, and I’d like to see what the writer and illustrator come up with in their next collaboration.

Like my review? Like it on Goodreads too!

Author Goodreads Page.

Author Blog where you can read it online for free!

Amazon buy link.

Runaway Smile, by Nicholas C Rossis (author) and Dimitris Fousekis (illustrator)

Book Length: 64 pages

Children’s Fiction

According to the Blurb:

“I woke up this morning and I had lost my smile and it wasn’t my fault and I looked everywhere and it was gone. Then I met a workman and a king and the best salesman in the world and a clown and no-one wanted to give me theirs. At school, I asked Miss to give me hers, but she gave us a pop quiz instead, and then no-one was smiling and…”

A little boy wakes up in the morning and realizes he has lost his smile. After spending the entire day trying to find it, he learns the truth behind smiles: the only real smiles are the shared ones.

7 thoughts on “Children’s Book Review: Runaway Smile by Nicholas C. Rossis

  1. Thank you so much for reviewing Runaway Smile! It was a wonderful surprise to see your post.

    As for your comment in regards to the dog, I think you’re right. I will change the references to “him” in any future editions. Ironically enough, that is already the case in the Greek translation. Thanks for pointing it out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

